30 Dangerous Facts About Processed Food

Gelatin Is A Non-Vegetarian Product

14. Gelatin Is A Non-Vegetarian Product

Sometimes, it’s hard to draw the line between what is considered vegetarian and what isn’t. The fact that most food processing companies don’t even clearly mention what goes into the making of their product can only add to the misunderstanding. Take for instance jelly.

The main ingredient in jelly isn’t the added flavor- it consists of gelatin which is made by boiling the bones, ligaments, and skin of cattle. It can be assumed that gelatin is made from cattle that have been slaughtered for the meat industry and could include unhealthy cattle.

Advertisement - Scroll To Continue